Showing posts with label World Heritage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label World Heritage. Show all posts

Tuesday, 27 January 2015

Mausoleum of the First Qin Emperor in China

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
Mausoleum of the First Qin Emperor - China

Certainly thousands of statues still remain to be dug out on this archaeological side which was not discovered till 1974. Qin (d. 210 B.C.), the first unifier China, will bury, from the famous terracotta warriors in the center of a Komplexs surround which is sketched for it, the urban plan of the capital to reflect the Xianyan. The small figures have passed away everything; with her horses, chariots and weapons, they are masterpieces of the realism and also from the big historical interest.

Wonderful Universal Value

Laid on the northern foot of the Lishan of mountain, 35 kilometers in the north-east of Xi'an, Shaanxi province, Qinshihuang mausoleum is the tomb of emperor Qinshihuang, founders of the first united empire in the Chinese history during the 3-rd century BCE. Begun in 246 BCE the grave-mound survives to a height of 51.3 meters within the oriented north south of a rectangular, twice walled in containment. Nearly 200 accompanying pits, the thousands of full-size terracotta soldiers, terracotta horses and bronze chariots and weapons - a world-famous discovery - together with burial tombs and architecturally contain, remain completely more than 600 sides within the proprietary area of 56.25 square kilometers. According to historian Sima Qian (c. 145-95 BCE), worker of every province of the empire slaved continually up to the death of the emperor in 210 to build a subterranean town within a gigantic mound. As the tomb of the first emperor who combined the land is the biggest in the Chinese history, with a unique standard and layout, and a big number of exquisite burial objects. It states for the foundation of the first united empire - the Qin dynasty, during 3. BCE, unprecedented political, military and economic power exercised and brought forward the social, cultural and artistic level of the empire.

Wide Report

The mausoleum of Qin Shi Huang is biggest preserved in China. It is a unique architectural ensemble, layout the urban plan of the capital, the Xianyang, with the imperial palace enclosed by the walls of the town, itself surround by other walls throws back. The mausoleum is also combined with an event of the universal meaning: the first union of the Chinese territory in a centralized state created from an absolute monarch, in 221 BC.

The first emperor of China, Qin Shi Huang (Ying Zheng: 221-210 B.C.) met to his tomb long before his access to the seat of the highest power precautions. When he became a king of Qin in 247 B.C., Zheng his geomancers had choose an inclined side on the foot of the rack Li. Work was started and was explained more energetically with every new political and military success about his rivals Han, Zhao, Wei, Chu, Yan and Qi. After the declaration of the empire of ten thousand of generations in 221 the work on the tomb accepted unusual dimensions.

About 700,000 workers of every province of the empire slaved continually up to the death of the emperor to build a subterranean town within a gigantic mound. The place was a true scale model of the palace, the empire and the world. His treasures were protected by automatically released weapons which are sketched to cross tomb robber. To Qin the death of Shi Huang became the main craftsmen hypogeum on the orders of the second emperor, walls as a precaution against her betrayed of her secrets. The mausoleum, 35 kms of Xian, is 43 ms high landmarked by an impressive mound. The interior is built within the first square containment with doors in the middle of each of four walls according to four basic points. This will surround after the row by the second rectangular containment which leads the north south.

The superstructures of the mausoleum have disappeared, and remains there only one wooded hilltop which resembles a trimmed pyramid on 350 ms of square base. While they sank a good 1.5 kms of the outside east wall of the internal room of the mausoleum, three farmers of the small village of the Yangeun west overcame a pit in which there were full-size terracotta statues of warriors. Excavations were begun immediately. Form 1 holes a true army of 1,087 warriors, the infantry and cavalry corps contained, in the fight education with archers stands the flanks protect. Today it is estimated that there are potential 6,000 statues of warriors and horses in this one pit only which has floored galleries 230 ms long. Now it is completely enclosed by the side museum.

Two other pits were discovered just in the north by the pit 1 and were found to contain similar articles - 1,500 warrior, carts and horses in the pit to 2, and 68 officers and dignitaries and a cart with four horses in the pit 3. These pits became temporary hintergefüllt, and the objects from them shown in the exhibit rooms pulled out which flank the north ends and south ends of the big hall of the side museum. More different finds were done on the west slope of the mound; these enclosed in particular two half-full-size throw bronze quadrigae.

According to present estimates the statue army of the Qin Shi Huang of mausoleum must have represented the precise number of the imperial guards. In the course of the last thirteen years discoveries have the dimensions of the mausoleum reveals, and the side uses one of the most splendid archaeological reserves in the world. Because of her unusual technical and artistic qualities the terracotta warriors and horses and the burial carts in bronze are a main work in the history of the Chinese sculpture before the government of the Han dynasty. The army of statues also carries unique report to the military organization in China at the moment of the arguing kingdoms (475-221 B.C.) and this of the short-lived empire of 1000 generations (221-210 B.C.) the direct report of the objects found in situ (lances, swords, axes, halberds, curves, arrows, etc.) are evident.
Source:whc/unesco

Saturday, 17 January 2015

Rideau Canal in Canada


The Rideau canal, a gigantic beginning of building of the 19-th century of 202 kms of the Rideau and rivers little Cataraqui preservation area As well as in Ottawa the south Kingstoner harbour on the lake Ontario, was built especially for strategical military purposes in a time that Great Britain and the United States to excel the control of the area. The side, one of the first canals is sketched especially for steam-powered containers for it also an ensemble of fortifications points in the leading role. It is the best preserved example of a slackwater canal in North America, that the use of this European technology on a big scale showing. It is the only canal which goes back to the big North American canal building age at the beginning of 19-th century, continue to work according to the original line with most of his intact structures.

Wonderful Universal Importance

The Rideau canal is a more strategical main canal built for military purposes has a determining role, that British troops for the protection of the colony in Canada against the United States of America which lead to the development of two different political and cultural bodies in the north of the American continent. This can be seen as an important stage in the history of the man. The Rideau canal remains the best preserved example of a slackwater canal in North America demonstrates the use of the European slackwater technology in North America on a big scale. It is the only canal which goes back to the big North American canal building age at the beginning of 19-th century, this continues to function according to the original line with the biggest part of the original intact structure. The Rideau canal is a rich and well preserved and clear example of a canal which was used for military purposes linkedly with an important phase in the history by human rights - this of the fight for the north of the American continent.

The called property contains the main elements of the original canal together with the relevant following changes in the form of watercourses, dams, bridges, forts, the stations and the neighboring archaeological springs. The original plan of the canal, as well as the form of the canals, has remained intact. The Rideau canal has fulfilled his original dynamic function as operational inland waterways without interruption since his building. Most castle gates and flaps still served with the hand done hoists.

All elements of the called area (canal, united buildings and forts) are protected as national historical boundary stones in the historical sides and monument law in 1952-3. A buffer zone is put. Repair and servicing of the locks, dams, canal walls and banks under the direct supervision of park Canada. Every year a third of the canal the property is examined by engineers thoroughly. Therefore, there is a whole stock on hand of the preservation status of all parts of the property. An administrative plan exists for the canal (completes in 1996 and updates in 2005), and the plans approach execution for the fort Henry and the Kingstoner fortifications. The canal plan is supported by the historical canal-regulation execution mechanism for activities which could have an influence on the cultural values of the monument.

Historical Data

As a result of the American war of the independence to moved thousands of people who remained loyally compared with the British crown, the north to Canada. The government began immediately to identify areas which suit for the development of the settlements for the follower. The small Cataraqui preservation area As well as the Rideau rivers one of the areas are overlooked and before 1800, several mills were built, in Kingstoner mills in 1784 only. Within a few years there were mills in most main cases along the rivers. But the difficulty of the navigation along the rivers in the north of the river st. Lawrences, the main establishment, hindered a lot of concentrated development.

The impulse for the improvement of the waterway, but did not come from the agriculture or other economic stimulus, however, from the needs for the defense. The war in 1812-1814 between Great Britain and the United States of America had the vulnerability of the river st. Lawrences, the main care line for the colony opposed. If not only it was slow with several rapids, but this was vulnerable for attacks of America along a lot from his length between Montreal and lake Ontario. After the end of Feindschaften America is still seen as a potential threat and the need for a sure military way an important need. Consequently military planners dealt with the small Cataraqui preservation area As well as the Rideau to rivers. After a research mission at the end of the war the canal project became in in 1824-1825, begun with two studies, one of engineer Samuels, commanders in chief of the army know at the request of the authorities of upper Canada, and other on request about the duke of the wellington, then. The strategical dimension of the canal, the British government to meet the costs of the fulfilment.

The lieutenant-colonel John by the royal engineer's trading company was appointed by the British government to supervise the building of the canal in 1826. Before his appointment military engineers had worked out a pattern for the building of new canals to get rid of the quick fluent rivers and of marshes along the rivers. This would have led away to 40 kms of new canals along the 202 km long one. By a different approach and taken up the government to accept a 'slackwater' system that the level of the water about the fluent rivers and marshes thoroughly the use of high ditches. This led to a practical way with the smallest excavation. By the canal also persists to meet the steamboats introduced recently then, and must go to dams, they were bigger and broader than what, till present built, in North America. Canal building began in 1828 and about 6,000 employees in multiple positions along the canal. The complete length was navigable in 1832.

The choice of the way for the Rideau canal and the use of a loose water canal-design, were under influence of the development of the land where the canal was. In many parts of Europe, for example, owners of the bank land, the water mills and the fishing rights of the change would oppose in the river in such a system. Slackwater canals are lighter and to build still less workers. Consequently this method is selected instead of a more expensive customary canal where the surroundings, as the case with the Rideau canal was. As with many canals the Rideau canal seems to be formed as a catalyst for the development. Ottawa grew up around the canal and southern direction of Ottawa river, and elsewhere there originate towns on the canal banks. This is combined a typical example of the economic development with canals and reflects the development of towns after the canal house elsewhere in the world.

The Rideau canal has survived almost in his original state as it was with the detour after the improvement in relations between the United Kingdom and the UNITED STATES and the development of the a lot of bigger Saint Lawrences Seaways. The military capacity is never put to the proof. Now functions, primarily, as a waterway for the leisure craft.
Source:whc/unesco

Friday, 16 January 2015

Historic Monuments and Sites in Kaesong in Korea

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites, in Korea
Historic Monuments and Sites in Kaesong - Korea

Put up in the Kaesong town, in the south of the land, the side exists of 12 separate components which state dynasty together to the history and culture of the Koryo from the 10th to the 14-th century. The geomantic layout of the former capital of Kaesong, his palaces, equipment and tomb complex, bulwarks and gates takes up the political, cultural, philosophical and spiritual values of a determining age in the history of the area. The monuments enclose enrolled also an astronomical and meteorological observatory, two schools (with one enthusiastic to educating national officials) and commemorative steles. The side states to the crossing of the Buddhism to Neo-Konfuzianismus in Eastern Asia and to the assimilation of the cultural spiritual and political values of the states which passed dynasty before union of Korea under the Koryo. The integration of the Buddhist, the Confucian, the Taoist and the geomantic images is a manifesto in the planning of the side and the architecture of his monuments.

Wonderful Universal Importance

Within the mountain-ringed washing bowl of the Kaesong town and in the foothills up to the vests extending, the historical monuments and sides enclose in Kaesong an ensemble which represents the ruling base of the Koryo dynasty (918-1392) with his linked tombs. The ensemble takes up the political, cultural, philosophical and spiritual values of the capital of the united Koryo state as it changed philosophy, by the geomantic layout of the town, the palace and the tomb complexes, the urban defensive system of walls and gates, and educational institutions of the Buddhist to the Konfuzianischen. The standard property exists of twelve separate proprietary components from which five separate departments of the Kaesong are town walls, the parts walled triply in Koryo of defensive system form. This enclosed the most internal Palocham wall 896 within which the palace was built later; the outer wall built in 1009-1029 to surround the town, the mountains connecting which protect it according to the Geomantie (Mt Songak, Mt Puhung, Tokam point, Mt Ryongsu and Mt Jine); and the internal wall 1391-3. Other seven components are the Manwoldae palace archaeological side, and remains from the Kaesong Chomsongdae (an astronomical and meteorological observatory); the Kaesong Namdae gate (the southern capital gate in the internal wall); Koryo Songgyungwan (a previous high state education institute which educated national official) Koryo; Sungyang Sowon (a Konfuzianische private school on the side of the former residence of Jong Mong Ju, in 1337-1392, a Koryo the minister whose murder marked fall of the Koryo); Sonjuk bridge (where Jong Mong Ju geermordet became), and Phyochung monuments (two stelae gedenkende Jong Mong Ju); the mausoleum of the king Wang Kon with linked seven tomb grapes and Myongrung tomb grape; and the mausoleum of the king Kongmin.
Source:whc/unesco

Morne Trois Pitons National Park in Dominica

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
Morne Trois Pitons National Park - Dominica

More excessively more of course tropical wood melts with regional volcanic qualities of the big scientific interest in this national park in the center put on the 1,342 m high volcano famously as a Morne Trois climbing hooks. With his hasty slope and deeply cut valleys, 50 fumaroles, to hot springs, three freshwater lakes, a ' cooking lake ' and five volcanoes, laid on nearly 7,000 of the park ha, together with the richest biodiversity by the smaller Antilles, Morne Trois climbing hooks presents national park a rare combination of natural qualities of the world heritage value.

Wide Report

Morne Trois climbing hooks is laid 13 kms in the east by the town of Roseau in the highlanders of the south-central Dominica, and it is the basaltic according to point one remains from a previous volcano which rises to about 1,300 ms within 8 kms of the sea. The scenery is characterized by volcanic piles with the hasty slope, and deeply cut valleys (glacis slope). There is also fumarole famously as a valley of the devastation (or great Soufriere), with fumaroles, to hot springs, mud pots, sulphur openings and the cooking lake which is second largest in the world of his kind. The valley is surrounded a big amphitheater by mountains and the existence from at least three separate craters where steam openings, small ponds, and hot springs bubble by the reason. The cooking of the lake will surround by cliffs and is covered almost always by clouds of the steam. The valley of the devastation drains in the point Mulatre river which flows into the Atlantic.

Other excellent qualities in the area enclose the emerald Green puddle, fed by the Middleham cases; stinking hole, a lava tube in the middle of the wood; and the Boeri and freshwater lakes. The freshwater lake is the biggest and second most deeply from four freshwater lakes of the Dominica. The Boeri lake is second largest in the Dominica, and is laid in the crater of a gone out volcano. Both lakes are separated each other by Morne Macaque (1,221 m) and change thoroughly with the season. As one thinks, both have originated about 25,000-30,000 years ago. The park also encloses almost all upper reaches of the streams and rivers in southern half of the island. Five natural vegetation zones are recognized within the area plus a small Fleck of the penetrating agricultural land. Elves-like wood / the cloud wood which seems in the highest elevations more than 914 ms and almost by the fog and subject to strong hoists, rains and cold temperatures constantly is covered. Main vegetation types exist of mosses, ferns, bushes and inhibited trees overcast by lichens.

Montane thicket, between elves-like and montane woods Übergangs-ist, is controlled by spindly trees. The mostly general tree found on the precipitous slope is Podocarpus coriaceus, the only home conifer of the island.

The ripe rain forest which grows less than 460 ms. This zone contains the most luxuriant growth.

The Montane rain forest which grows more than 610 ms is often in the cloud lid or fog. The kind composition is diminished to this of the ripe rain forest, still a lot in the stature similarly. Nichtgefäßepiphytes cover most montane rain forest works.

The event of at least 7 kinds of the mammal, 50 birds, 12 reptiles and the amphibians and 12 crustaceans is indicated. Separated by the introduced opossum and agouti there are no land mammals in the area. Other introduced mammals enclose wild cats and pigs and rats. Birds enclose the imperial Amazon and red necked Amazoner to parrots. The imperial Amazon was earlier in general, however now it is threatened in the Dominica. The red necked Amazon was also a generally seen kind, but now is seldom observed in only some small areas of the park. There are no poisonous snakes in the Dominica. Boa grows to 3.6 ms in the length and is general in Morne Trois climbing hooks. Three kinds of lizards, including the endemic, exist in the park.

Historical Data

Morne Trois climbing hooks national park was suggested first as a forest reserve in 1952. The area was called national park under the national parks and Gesetz-No 16 of the protected areas of July, 1975.
Source:whc/unesco

Wednesday, 7 January 2015

Kahuzi Biega National Park in Congo

Kahuzi Biega National Park - Congo

A gigantic area of the primary tropical wood controls through two sensational gone out volcanoes, Kahuzi and Biega, the park has a different and plentiful fauna. One of the last groups of the east lowland (graueri) gorillas (the existence from only about 250 persons) lives in between 2,100 and 2,400 ms about the sea level.

Wonderful Universal Importance

On the Albertine Rift and the washing bowl of Congo Kahuzi-Biega astride sitting, national park is an unusual habitat for the protection of the rain forest and the east lowland-gorillas, gorilla berengei graueri. More than 600,000 ha extending, are thick lowland rain forests as well as Afro-montane woods, with bamboo woods and some small areas of subalpine Prärien and heather on racks Kahuzi (3,308 m) and Biega (2,790 m). The park contains a flora and fauna of the unusual dissimilarity, it one of the most important sides in the break Albertine Valley doing, this is also one of the ecologically richest areas of Africa and worldwide. In particular the most important world population of east lowland-gorillas (or de gray), subspecies endemically to the democratic republic of Congo (DRC) and registers under the theendangered category on the IUCN red data book, uses the mosaic of habitats found in the property.

Wide Report

The park has lain in the east part of the land, 50 kms in the west of the town of Bukavu, close lake Kivu and the Rwandan border. There is of a smaller sector on the eastern side which covers a part of the Mitumba mountains, and a bigger west sector in the Zairean main washing bowl. Two zones are connected by a narrow way. The entrance to the park is in Tshivanga on the eastern side. Of 75,000 ha of eastern sector is complete montane. The massif is a part of the Mitumba mountain range, the west mountains of the big break valley. Two main points, mounting you Kahuzi (3,308 m) and mounting you that Biéga (2,790 m) are gone out volcanoes, and the massive data of the late Tertiären or early four group.

The lowland sector in the Zairean main washing bowl covers the divides of the tributary of the Lukas and the Lugulu rivers. These both drainpipes in flussLualaba. The lengthening lies less than 1,500 ms separated from isolated points like rack Kamani (1,700 m), and exists of mountains cut by deep valleys. The wave terrain in the west forms a strap between two zones. The west zone becomes by the equatorial rain forest, with the transitional wood between 1,200 ms and 1,500 ms wooded. In the east zone six different primary vegetation types have become noteworthy: Mountain rain forest, height rain forest, marsh wood, bamboo wood, subalpine heather and marsh and peat marsh. The park was founded to protect 200-300 east lowlands the gorilla (from gray) which seems primarily in the woods in 2,100-2,400 ms, but also in the lower rain forest. The 'mosaic' from biotypes does the park an excellent gorilla's habitat. Other primates close east chimpanzees, and numerousCercopithecinae and Colobinae one. Other mammals enclose elephants, forest pig and many antelopes and duiker. Avifauna encloses sunbird of the endemic skirt fur trader, broadbill from gray, the warbler of gray and crimsonwing from Shelley. Endemic mammalian kinds enclose gigantic gennet, water civet, the horseshoe bat of Maclaud, Ruwenzori of the smallest viper-quarrel devils, from owl seen monkey, eastern needle klauengalago, the tree squirrel of Thomas and the shrub squirrel of Alexander.

15 villages of variable cultivators were laid in the east sectors of the park when it was created and continue to be taken. The park has lain in one of the most close populated areas of the land. About 90 of the population of Kivu are rural, from the agriculture primarily dependent. Seven separate family groups living around the park including the Pygmy, the Barega and the Bashi people. Traditional living is based on the variable agriculture and the existence hunt.
Source:whc/unesco

Friday, 2 January 2015

Mount Nimba Strict Nature Reserve Côte d'Ivoire

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
Mount Nimba Strict Nature Reserve - Côte d'Ivoire

Laid on the borders of Guinea, Liberia and Côte d'Ivoire, rack Nimba increases above the surroundings savanna. His slope is covered by the thick wood on the foot of grassy mountain pastures. They accommodate an especially rich flora and fauna, with endemic kinds like the viviparous toad and chimpanzee which use stones as tools.

Wonderful Universal Importance

A true "water tower" with about fifty springs between the Côte d'Ivoire and Guinea, the rack Nimba austere nature reserve is controlled by a mountain range which culminate in 1,752-m height in the rack Nimba. The slope, covers with the thick wood in the lower levels, with grassy mountain pastures, overflows from especially pass endemic flora and fauna. To itself all together area of 17,540 ha, with 12,540 ha in Guinea and 5,000 ha in Côte d'Ivoire stretching, the property is integrated into the public area of two states. This reserve contains original and different kinds of the noteworthiest animal and the plant populations, not only in western Africa, but also in the complete African continent; in particular threatened kinds like the Micropotamogale of the rack Nimba (Micropotamogale lamottei), the viviparous toad of the rack Nimba (Nimbaphrynoides occidentalis) and chimpanzees which use stones as tools.

Historical Data

Austere nature reserve founded by the order No 4190 of SE / FA, in 1943, in the stable d'Ivoire and by the order in 1944 in Guinea. Stable d'Ivoire nature reserve is ' forêt classée ' under the national property right. Each other bordering nature reserve planned department in the Liberia niches. As a biosphere accepted Guinea-sector reserves in 1980. Both reserves form a world heritage page, in the official gazette announced in 1981 (Guinea) and in 1982 (stable d'Ivoire).
Source:whc/unesco

Jelling Mounds, Runic Stones and Church in Denmark

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites in denmark,
Jelling Mounds, Runic Stones and Church - Denmark

The burial mounds bringing to Jelling and one of the runic stones hit examples of the pagan northern culture, while the other runic stone and the church illustrate the Christianisation of the Danish people at the middle of the 10-th century.

Wonderful Universal Importance

To bring laid in central Jutland for gelling, a royal monument was during the government of Gorm, and his son Harald Bluetooth in the 10-th century, and can maybe date back this age. The complex exists of two mounds exceeded by apartment, 70 meters in the diameter and up to 11 meters high which are identical almost in the figure and size and building, are built by lawn, carefully stacked in even layers with the grass page which lies down. On introducing the Christianity in Denmark, and the integrating Norway with the land Harald Bluetooth announced his results publicly, while he put up a stone between two mounds and built the first wooden church to bring for Jelling.

The big runic stone is laid exactly on half a way between two mounds. His cut inscription, under an enrolled intertwined northern dragon, reads ' king Harald offered this monument, are done in memory by Gorm his father and Thyra his mother, that Harald who won whole Denmark and Norway for itself and did the Danes to Christian. On the southwest face the frühste picture of Christ is in Scandinavia, with an inscription in connection with the conversion of the Danes to the Christianity between 953 and 965. The original position of an adjoining smaller runic stone is not known. However, the stone has been in his present position since about 1630. King Gorm reads ' his inscription did this monument of his wife Thyra, decoration of Denmark '. A small easy church of the whitewashed stone is on the side of at least three earlier wooden churches from which everything were destroyed by the fire. Excavations in 2006 have proofs of a great Palisade reveals which the monument, and parts of a ship setting of the unknown dimension surrounds. The beginning of the conversion of the Scandinavian people to the Christianity characteristically, the mounds bringing to gelling, runic stones and church are excellent manifestations of an event of the unusual importance. This crossing between the pagan and Christian belief is illustrated by the pagan burial mounds following on each other, a pagan runischen stone, another memory of the introduction of the Christianity, and the appearance of the Christian representing Kirchüberwiegens lively. The complex is in Scandinavia, and the rest of Europe extremely.

Wide Report

The complex bringing to Jelling, and especially the pagan burial mounds and two runic stones, is excellent examples of the pagan northern culture. Many of the early Danish recordings in connection with the Viking's king Gorm and queen Thyre are recognized by scholars not to be based on the reliable tradition. There is no immediate proof, that to bring two big grave-mounds in it, for gelling, those were of two monarches. The only irrefutable connection is made available that by two runic stones. Certain facts are still unquestionable. To bring in order to gel, a royal property was in the 10-th century, during the government of Gorm and his son Harald Bluetooth. Gorm put up a stone here in memory of his wife Thyre, and the royal pair ruled over an area known as Denmark.

The first wooden church built on the side of the present impressive building was the biggest from his kind somewhere in Scandinavia. Archaeological proofs suggest that it was built in the later 10-th century, during the period about 960 than Harald Bluetooth Christentum introduced in Denmark as he announces on bigger from two runic stones publicly. A big tomb lined by timber of the type of the 10-th century, artifacts of the high status containing, was an integrated quality of the design of this first church. Bigger from two runic stones which carry the inscription of Harald are laid symmetrically between two burial mounds which has been shown by the archaeological excavation to be his original position. The north mound became built about an impressive burial space of the oak, shortening in an earlier Bronze Age handcart of much smaller dimensions. This space had been opened, before the first excavation took place in 1820. The bigger part of his original contents had been removed, but few remaining articles showed that it had been a moor burial of the high status him at the middle of 10-th century. It is unsafe whether that was a single or double burial. The south mound contains no burial space. Excavation has reveals that it is built about a stone arrangement (maybe a ship setting of the Viking type), is oriented exactly to the Bronze Age handcart which is defeated by the north mound.

The hypothetical reconstruction of the result to bring for gelling is as follows. After the death of the queen Thyre her husband raised a stone in her memory and put on a common burial monument-existence from two very much big mounds. On his death he was buried in the space of the north mound which could already have contained tyre, remains. On bringing together Denmark and of Norway and the Einführens of the Christianity in Denmark her son Harald Bluetooth puts up a stone which announces his results between two mounds publicly, and built an impressive wooden church in which to the place to stay of his father became reburied one. Two mounds exceeded by apartment are identical almost in the figure (a trimmed cone) and size. The bigger runic stone is laid exactly on half a way between two mounds. His inscription reads: ' King Harald offered this monument, are done in memory by Gorm his father and Thyre his mother, that Harald who won whole Denmark and Norway for itself and did the Danes to Christians. ' The biggest part of the inscription is on the east face of the stone, and becomes by a carved picture of a typical northern dragon in the interline-decoration geüberstiegen. The rest of the inscription in connection with which Christianisation of the Danes between 953 and 965, is on the southwest face which also carries the frühste picture of Christ in Scandinavia. Besides is the smaller runische stone. This is not in his original position which is not known; it has been in his present position since about 1630. The inscription reads: ' King Gorm did this monument of his wife Thyre, decoration of Denmark.'

The present church which has shown archaeological excavation to have become preceding by at least three churches built from the wood from which everything were destroyed by the fire is built an easy whitewashed structure from hard tufa, to a local material easily worked in the stone quarry. His reconstruction began about 1100 when there was of a chancel and nave; the tower at the west end was added at the beginning of the 15-th century. The mural painting pictures which date by chance 1100 (and thus earliest Denmark) came to light on the walls of the chancel in 1874-75.

Historical Data

Many of the early Danish recordings in connection with the Vikings-ring corm and queen Thyre are recognized by scholars not to be based on the reliable tradition. There is no immediate proof, that to bring two big grave-mounds in it, for gelling, those were of two monarches. The only irrefutable connection is made available that by two runic stones.

Certain facts are still unquestionable. To bring in order to gel, a royal property was in the 10-th century, during the government of the corm and his son Haralds Bluetooth. Corm put up a stone here in memory of his wife Thyre, and the royal pair ruled over an area known as Denmark. The first wooden church built on the side of the present impressive building was the biggest from his kind somewhere in Scandinavia. Archaeological proofs suggest that it was built in the later 10-th century, during the period about 960 than Harald Bluetooth Christentum introduced in Denmark as he announces on bigger from two nmic to stones publicly. A big tomb lined by timber of the type of the 10-th century, artifacts of the high status containing, was an integrated quality of the design of this first church.

Bigger from two runic stones which carry the inscription of Harald are laid symmetrically between two burial mounds which has been shown by the archaeological excavation to be his original position. The north mound became built about an impressive burial space of the oak, shortening in an earlier Bronze Age handcart of much smaller dimensions. This space had been opened, before the first excavation took place in 1820. The bigger part of his original contents had been removed, but few remaining articles showed that it had been a moor burial of the high status him at the middle of 10-th century. It is unsafe whether that was a single or double burial. The south mound contains no burial space. Excavation has reveals that it is built about a stone arrangement (maybe a ship setting of the Viking type), is oriented exactly to the Bronze Age handcart which is defeated by the north mound.

The hypothetical reconstruction of the result to bring for gelling is as follows. After the death of QueenThyne her husband raised a stone in her memory and put on a common burial monument-existence from two very much big mounds. On his death he was buried in the space of the north mound which could already have contained Thyre, remains. On bringing together Denmark and of Norway and introducing Christianity in Denmark her son Harald Bluetooth puts up a stone which announces his results between two mounds publicly, and built an impressive wooden church in which to the place to stay of his father became reburied one.
Source:whc/unesco

Virunga National Park in Congo

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites in congo
Virunga National Park - Congo

Virunga national park (the covering of an area of 790,000 ha) encloses an excellent dissimilarity of habitats, in the interval of marshes and steppes to the snowy fields of Rwenzori in a height of more than 5,000 ms, and from lava levels to the savannahas on the slope of volcanoes. Mountain gorillas are found in the park, about 20,000 Nile horses living in the rivers and birds of Siberia spend the winter there.

Wonderful Universal Importance

National park of Virunga is unique with his active chain of volcanoes and rich dissimilarity of habitats which excel those any other African park. His row contains a coalescence of steppes, savanna and levels, marshland, low height and afro-montane forest straps to the unique Afro-Alpine vegetation and lasting glaciers and snow on Monts Rwenzori whose points culminate in 5000-m height. The property encloses the sensational massifs of Rwenzori and Virunga to mountains which contain two most active volcanoes of Africa. The wide dissimilarity of habitats generates unusual biodiversity, in particular endemic kinds and rare and in general threatened kinds like the mountain gorilla.

Wide Report

The park lies in the north-east of the democratic republic of Congo, on the border with Uganda and Rwanda, and closes a part of the lake Edward (Idi Amin), the Semliki river valley, parts of the Rwindi, Ishasha and Rutshuru valleys in the south of the lake, the Virunga area within the democratic republic of Congo, and the part of the Rwenzori row one. Lake Edward belongs to the river system of the Nile and lake Kivu to the washing bowl-river system of Congo. Qualities enclose hot springs in the Rwindi levels, and the Virunga massive volcanoes, how Nyamulagira (3,068 m) and Nyiragongo (3,470 m), are still active. The areas of the lowest and highest precipitation in the democratic republic of Congo are in the Virunga national park. The substantial Altitudinal row runs out to marked climatic variations which concern the whole biological and geographic dissimilarity by habitats. Habitat types include lakes in different heights, marshy deltas and peat, savanna and lava levels, low height equatorial wood gets stuck, height glacier, and snowy fields (have the Rwenzori points lasting snowy lid). Laid on the border between several Biogeographic zones the park protects tropical rain forest as well as east steppe-kinds, and his row of heights contributes to the habitat variety. The dissimilarity encloses: Bamboo and Hagenia wood on the mountains; equatorial wood along the Semiliki; wooded savanna of the Rwindi; steppes; different low savanna; marshes and transitional habitats; dry up thicken wood; Neoboutonia macrocup wood at the lava levels; wet thick wood; Alpine woods; and scanty vegetation more than 4,300 ms of contained primarily lichens and spermatophyta have been found althoughGraminae, in more than 5,000 ms growing.

Some of the biggest wild animal concentrations in Africa seem along the rivers of the park. Mammals in the savanna of the Rwindi of area enclose: Elephant, Nile horse, buffalo, numerous antelope including kob, defassa waterbuck and topi, wart pig, lion and different monkeys. A big number of pelicans seems on deep Rutshuru. In the Semiliki valley and on the slope of the Virunga of mountains are gorilla, chimpanzee and okapi. In the extreme north are forest pig and bongo. Birds enclose francolin from Nahan, forest reason-throttle, shoebill and probably papyrus yellow warbler.

Historical Description

Founded in 1925 as a park of Albert National (809,000 ha); revised by the order No 69-041 from the 22nd August as a Virunga national park. Called as a world heritage page 1979.
Source:whc/unesco

Monday, 29 December 2014

City of Quito in Ecuador

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
 City of Quito - Ecuadorcaption

Quito, capital of Ecuador, was created in the 16th century on the ruins of an Inca-city and State at an altitude of 2,850 meters. Despite the earthquake of 1917, the city has the best preserved historic center in Latin America, least amended. The monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, and the Church and the Jesuit College of La Compañía, with their rich interiors, are pure examples of the Baroque school of Quito ', which offers a mix of Moorish, Spanish, Italian, Flemish and native art.

Long Description

Quito, capital of Ecuador, forms a harmonious ensemble sui generis, where the actions of man and nature come together to create unique and transcendental works of its kind. With the historic centre and the buildings of the city is an excellent example of the Baroque school of Quito, a mixture of European and indigenous art. The city is located in a small basin in the great central plateau formed by the volcano Pichincha, Puengasi ridge and ridges formed by the foothills of the eastern side of Pichincha. The land on which Quito is built is uneven and is crossed by two deep ravines (quebradas), one of which is curved in large part for the preservation of the alignment of the streets, the discharge of which escapes through a cleft in the ridge northwards to the area of apartments.

Quito 2,850 metres above sea level takes its name from the Quitus, the region populated a long time before the Spanish conquest. In 533 Sebastian Benalcazar peacefully took possession of the native city, which had been successively Seyris and a capital of the Incas, and in 1541 it was elevated to the rank of a Spanish city. His full name was San Francisco del Quito, and it was the capital of the province or the Presidency of Quito down to the end of Spanish colonial rule. It has repeatedly suffered from earthquakes, the biggest damage occurs and 1797 and 1859, but the city has the best preserved and least altered historic centre in Latin America.

The Franciscan order was the first to settle in Quito and immediately started a monastery that became the center of education and art with private schools of painting and sculpture built. The Augustinians, Dominicans and Jesuits then shaped the look of the town with their monasteries. The monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo Church and the Jesuit College of La Compañía with their rich interiors are pure examples of the so-called ' Baroque school of Quito ', a fusion of Moorish, Spanish, Italian, Flemish and native art. La Compañía is probably the richest Church in South America with its golden altar.

The city is largely laid out in rectangular squares, streets approximately aligned to the cardinal points of the compass. The houses of Quito are mainly built in the old Spanish or Moorish style. The building material in general use is Sun-dried brick, those in the better houses with plaster or stucco. The public buildings are of the heavy Spanish type. Over the principal square are the Cathedral, the Palace of Government, the Bishop's Palace and the city hall. The most beautiful building in the city is the Jesuit church, the façade of which is covered with elaborate carving.
Source:whc/unesco

Wednesday, 24 December 2014

Red Bay Basque Whaling Station In Canada

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage canadian sites
Red Bay Basque Whaling Station - Canada

The Red Bay founded by the Basque seamen in 16th century, in the point of the northeast of Canada on the banks of Détroit of Island of Beauty is an archeological site that the most full and the best, first preserved evidence of the tradition of European whaling. Gran Baya, he was called by those who founded the station in the course of 1530s, was used as the foundation for the hunt of coastal region, to meet at least, the interpretation of fat of whale by post for the production of oil and storage. It was an important source of whale been sent in Europe where it was used for illumination. The site, which is used in summer months, by including the fragment to return ovens, cooperages, quays, temporary units and graveyard, group with submarine remains vessels and stores of bone of whale. The station was used for 70 years, before the population of local whale is reduced.

Wonderful Universal Importance

Found in Labrador, in northeast of Canada, on the coasts of Détroit of Island of Beauty, the Red Berry is a maritime foundation Arctic for the Basque seamen in 16th century. It is the most full and the best, oldest preserved archeological obviousness of a pre-industrial whaling. It was used for coastal whaling in summer, butcher of whales and interpretation of oil and storage. The whale was sold in Europe especially for illumination. Ownership is made up to remain to return ovens, cooperages, quay, space to live and a graveyard, group with the underwater wrecks of ships and stores of bone of whale. The Station of whaling of Basque of Red Berry is a very good example of the tradition of whaling adopted by Basques in 16th century for the production of oil which was transported for sale in Europe. From the point of view of the diversity of archeological sound it stays, is the station of the most sprawling and the best preserved and the most sprawling whaling of this type. The Station of whaling of Basque of Red Berry is comprehensible group of archeological elements to illustrate the establishment of a proto-industrial process of production on a large scale of whale, in 16th century.
Source:whc/unesco

Complex of Koguryo Tombs in Korea

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
Complex of Koguryo Tombs - Korea

The property includes numerous group and individual tombs - totaling about 30 individual tombs - from last period of the Kingdom Koguryo, one of the toughest kingdoms in China at present northeast and the half of the Korean peninsula between 3rd century BC in 7th century ap J.-C.. Tombs, many with nice wall painting, are almost the only rest of this culture. Only about 90 of more than 10,000 tombs Koguryo overdrafts in China and Korea at the moment have wall painting. Nearly half of these tombs is found on this site and they think that they are made for the entombment of kings, the members of the royal family and the upper class. This painting gives an unique evidence in the daily life of this period.

Outstanding Universal Value

Koguryo was one of the strongest kingdoms in northeast China and the half of the Korean peninsula between 3rd century BC and the 7th century ap J.-C.. The cultural most known inheritance rest of this kingdom are tombs, constructed by some stone and covered by the stone mounds or on earth. These tombs, from middle the period of the kingdom, many with nice wall painting, are the representative stays of this culture. About 100 of more than 10,000 tombs Koguryo overdrafts in the Republic of Democratic People of Korea and China are up to the gift decorated with the wall painting, among which about 80 are in the Republic of Democratic People of Korea. Among tombs Koguryo identified in the Republic of Democratic People of Korea, 63 individual tombs by including 16 tombs with wall painting are included in inscribed ownership.

The Complex of Tombs Koguryo is an ownership classifies and includes several groups and individual tombs located especially at the foot of mountains and some in villages. Found in Pyongyang and in ambient provinces, they think that tombs are made for the entombment of kings, the members of the royal family and the upper class. Tombs are monumental mounds on earth, en-pierre-chambered which were skillfully constructed with the designs of clever ceiling to support heavy weight above. Technology used represents an unique, creative resolution and for a long time searched by mechanical engineering of the technical problems put down by the underground building of tomb.

Wide Report

Tombs Koguryo are the special evidence of culture Koguryo, its customhouse of entombment and its daily life and firm belief. The special customhouse of entombment of thisculture had an important influence on other cultures in the region, by including those in Japan. The wall painting of tombs is masterpieces of culture and period of the Kingdom Koguryo, while the building of tombs shows clever resolutions of mechanical engineering. The site of world heritage includes several groups and individual tombs, totalling about 30 individual tombs, from last period of the Kingdom Koguryo, one of the strongest kingdoms in China of the northeast and the half of the Korean peninsula between 3rd century BC and the 7th century ap J.-C.. Tombs, many with nice wall painting, are almost the only rest of this culture. Only about 90 of more than 10,000 tombs Koguryo overdrafts in China and Korea have wall painting at the moment. Almost half of these tombs is found on this site and they think that they are made for the entombment of kings, the members of the royal family and the upper class. This painting gives an unique evidence in the daily life of this period.

The site includes 63 tombs of five regions in North Korea, grown have been constructed between 5th and 6th centuries. Of these, Kangso Trois Tombs and the Royal Tomb of king Tongmyong, with 16 other tombs, contain painting of wall painting. As Koguryo stretched of what is the Province of Jilin in China of the northeast in Pyongyang in North Korea now, the historical sites in both nations have been a point of conflict on their lineage for a long time. The Koreans demand that Koguryo is a kingdom of ancient Korea based on historical obviousness, while the Chinese historians claimed Koguryo as being part of their history, as objects from period were kept and preserved by China because of their geographical distribution in its borders. Both countries agreed to put the historical inheritances of the ancient kingdom on the Worldwide List of Inheritance separately as they consider that it is 'apolitical ' and both countries concentrate to preserve sites and to use them as tourist attractions and as sources of historical research. The wall painting of Koguryo is rich in colour and tone: pictures of feminine dance, warlike in training, birds in the sky, dragons, the fish in rivers, the animals in forests, wind and clouds of wall painting are so real and cool as they seem as though they can be envoys of the cloth from instant to the other one.

Historical Data

The kingdom Koguryo has existed for almost 1,000 years, of 277 BC in 668 AD.. It was established in Huanren, the Province of Liaoning in China, transferred in year 3 ap J.-C. to the Castle Kungnae in Ji' a year, the Province of Jilin, China, in Mt. The region of Taesong in Pyongyang, in 427 AD. and finally in the Castle Jangan in the centre of the present day the city of Pyongyang. Pyongyang, located in a strategical place, has been for a long time the political, economic and cultural centre, as the capital of ancient Korea (Kojoson) which is reason why the kingdom Koguryo moved its capital here and made big efforts in the development of it. The kingdom Koguryo developed its territory to cover northeast China and half of the Korean peninsula, by becoming one of the strongest powers in the East. It collapsed in year 668 AD.

The cultural most known inheritance rest of this kingdom are thousands of tombs, constructed by some stone and covered by the stone mounds or on earth. The tombs of mound on earth, by including with wall painting a lot, were which predominates as soon as Koguryo moved the capital in Pyongyang - but existed in other parties of the kingdom also. The most part of the known tombs suffered from underground unearthing in a last thousand years. As a result little being scientifically excavated before such activity and there are very few full objects from tombs. Tombs accepted worldwide attention only in 1905, when during Japanese occupation many of them were opened to the general public. The first scientific research and material made by the Japanese erudite persons between 1911 and 1940s.
Source:whc/unesco

Monday, 15 December 2014

Imperial Palaces of the Ming and Qing Dynasties in Beijing and Shenyang China

Imperial Palaces of the Ming and Qing Dynasties in Beijing and Shenyang - China

The place of supreme power for more than five centuries (1416-1911), the City Defended in Beijing, with its done up gardens and many buildings (among whom almost 10,000 rooms contain pieces of furniture and works of art), constitutes an invaluable evidence in Chinese civilization during Ming and dynasties Qing. The Imperial Palace of Dynasty Qing in Shenyang is made up of 114 buildings constructed between 1625-26 and 1783. He contains an important library and manifests the foundation of the last dynasty which governed China, before he developed his power of the centre of the country and moved the capital in Beijing. This palace then became auxiliary in the Imperial Palace in Beijing. This architectural remarkable building gives the historical evidence matter in the history of Dynasty Qing and in the cultural traditions of Manchu and others tribes north of China.

Wonderful Universal Importance

As the royal residences of the emperors of the Ming and dynasties Qing of the 15th in 20th century, the Imperious Palaces of Ming and dynasties Qing in Beijing and Shenyang were the centre of state power in last feudal China. The Imperial Palace of Ming and Dynasties Qing in Beijing known as the Defended City was constructed between 1406 and 1420 by the emperor Ming Zhu Di and was witness of the enthronement of 14 Ming and of 10 emperors Qing in the course of next 505 years. The Imperial Palace of Dynasty Qing in Shenyang was constructed between 1625 and 1637 by Nurgaci for aïeuls Nuzhen / Manchu de la Dynastie Qing, which settled in Beijing in 1644. Having so known as the Palace of Houjin or the Shenglin palace, it was then used as the secondary capital and the temporary residence for the royal family until 1911. The Imperious Palaces of Beijing and Shenyang were inscribed on the Worldwide List of Inheritance in 1987 and 2004 respectively.

The forbidden town, laid in the center of Beijing is granting the highest model in the development of old Chinese palaces, insight into the social development of late dynastic China, especially the ritual and court culture. The layout and space classification inherit and showing take up the traditional quality of the urban planning and the palace building in old China, a main axis, symmetrical design and layout of the outside court in the internal and front court in the back in the leading role, and the containment, in addition, the formed courts gärtnerisch which are to be led back on the Yuan Town Lay out. As the model of the old architectural hierarchy, building technologies and architectural art, it influenced official buildings of the following Qing dynasty about a span of 300 years. The religious buildings, especially a row of royal Buddhist rooms within the palace, plentiful qualities of ethnic cultures absorbent, are a report of the integration and the exchange in the architecture under the Manchu, Han, Mongolian and Tibetanisch since the 14-th century. In the meantime, are more than one million valuable royal collections, articles used from the royal family and a big number of archivalischen materials on old technology technologies, including written recordings, drawings and models, proofs of the court culture and the law and the regulations of the Ming and Qing dynasties.

The imperial palace of the Qing dynasty into Shenyang, while after the traditions of the palace building in China typical qualities of traditional people's residences of the Manchu keep people, and the architectural arts of Han, Manchu and Mongolian ethnic cultures has integrated. The buildings were put on according to ' eight headlines ' system, a different social organization system in the Manchu society, a classification which is unique under palace buildings. Within the Qingning of palace the sacrificial places state for the emperors to the duty of Shamanism skilledly from the Manchu to people since several hundred years.

Wide Report
The imperial palaces carry unusual report to the Chinese civilization, true reserves of sceneries, architecture, furnishings and the objects of the art, as well as the Enthaltens of unusual proofs to the living traditions and the duty from shamanism skilledly from the Manchu to people since centuries being. They illustrate the grandeur of the imperial equipment of the Qing dynasty to early Ming and Yuan dynasties, as well as Manchu traditions, and present proofs on the evolution of this architecture in the 17th and 18-th centuries. In the center of Beijing to the north of the Tiananmen of square lying, the forbidden town was the imperial palace during the Ming and Qing dynasties. Now famously as the palace museum that is rectangular in the figure and the biggest palace complex is in the world, 74 ha covering. The Blendwand has a gate on every side and there are towers on each of four corners, views about the palace as well as about the town outdoors granting.

The forbidden city is an extremely formal place: this is almost symmetrical and arranged hierarchically, so that all important buildings cross the center, the north south. The hall of the highest harmony, which to preserve hall of the main harmony and the hall, harmony which enclose the outside palace where the emperor exercised his highest power about the nation, and the hall of the heavenly cleanness, the hall of the union and the hall of the earthly silence, the internal palace extensively where the imperial family, stand lived in a line on the south to the north on the main axis. According to the Geomantie the main gate is in the south, and the northern side 'is 'protected' by the artificial coal hill. The buildings of the forbidden town completely take up the artistic qualities and style of the old Chinese palace architecture, and can be called a masterpiece in Chinese, even world, architectural history.

In 1406 the Ming dynasty emperor Zhu Tu ordered the building of an imperial palace: his building began in 1407 and was completed in 1420. The necessary stone became from Fangshan, a suburb of Beijing in the stone quarry worked: for 20,000 farmers to be in the state, to move a huge stone cylinder in winter engineers created a gigantic ice path by flowing out liquid water on the icebound ground, and thousands of horses pulled the stone about the ice to the center of Beijing. Wood was even more difficult to move. Gigantic trees in the Sichuan province were felled for the main halls, but it was thought that they were too big to move. Workers had to wait, to pelting rain washed the block in rivers where boaters steered them in the great canal, of where they allow to swim the north to Beijing and were towed in the castle park.

The imperial palace of the Qing dynasty in Shenyang exists of 114 buildings; it contains an important library and states to the foundation of the last dynasty which ruled over China, before it spread out his power to the center of the land and moved the capital to Beijing. Then this palace became an auxiliary verb for the imperial palace in Beijing. This noteworthy architectural impressive building offers important historical report of the history of the Qing to dynasty and to the cultural traditions of the Manchu and other trunks in the north of China.

Work began with the construction of the palace in 1625, and it was completed in 1636. Although looks to be a miniature of the forbidden town in Beijing, the Shenyang palace is smaller comparatively in the scale. The Manchurian influence behind his building also shows a departure in the style of his predecessor. The main architecture on the main axis is the Chong Zheng Dian where the Emperoro looked after his political affairs (this is where Juchen Manchu was renamed). Behind are Feng Huang Lou (tower of phoenix) and Qing Ning gong (palace of the heavenly peace) in which he and his concubines lived. Because Zheng Dian (hall of big affairs) is the main building on the east axis. Before the hall there are eight pavilions where the Manchurian family men assembled to discuss state affairs and for other important ceremonies.
Source:whc/unesco

Sangha Trinational in Congo

Sangha Trinational - Congo

Located in the North-Western Congo basin, where Central African Republic, Cameroon and Congo meet, the site includes three continuous nature parks in total about 750,000 ha. Much of the site is not affected by human activity and features a wide range of humid tropical forest ecosystems with rich flora and fauna, including Nile crocodiles and goliath tigerfish, a large predator. Herbaceous species and above support forest Sangha is where significant populations of endangered chimpanzee, forest elephants and endangered western lowland gorilla. Of the site environment, the continuation of the ecological and evolutionary processes on a large scale and high biodiversity, including many endangered species preserved.

Wonderful Universal Importance

Sangha (TNS) is a cross-border trinational conservation complex in the North-Western Congo basin where Cameroon, Central African Republic and the Republic of Congo meet. TNS includes three continuous nature parks in total a legally defined area of 746,309 hectares. These are the Lobéké Dzanga-Ndoki National Park in Cameroon, National Park in the Central African Republic and Nouabalé-Ndoki National Park in the Republic of Congo. Dzanga-Ndoki National Park consists of two different units. The parks are embedded in a much larger forest landscape, sometimes referred to as the TNS landscape. A buffer zone of 1, 787, 950 hectares was set up in recognition of the importance of the wider landscape and its inhabitants for the future of the property. The Dzanga-Sanga Forest Reserve buffer zone handheld computers in the Central African Republic, which the Dzanga-Ndoki National Park connects two units.

Natural values and features include the ongoing ecological and evolutionary processes in a mostly intact forest landscape on a very large scale. Numerous and diverse habitats such as tropical forests comprises about 170–180 species of deciduous and evergreen species, a wide variety of wetland types, including swamp forests and periodically flooded forests and many types of forest conservation places of great importance continue to be connected to a landscape level. This mosaic of ecosystems and viable populations of full houses faunal floral assemblages, including top predators and rare and endangered species, such as gorillas, chimpanzees and Forest elephants, several kinds of antelope, such as the Bongo and the characteristic Sitatungas.
Source:whc/unesco

Sunday, 14 December 2014

Old Town Lunenburg in Canada

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
Old Town Lunenburg - Canada

Castle Lunenburg old town is the best preserved example of a planned British colonial settlement in North America. Founded in 1753, the origin layout and the whole appearance, being based on a rectangular grill pattern raised in the country of origin. The inhabitants have insured of the town identity before the centuries by the preservation of the wooden architecture of the houses and public building from which some go back to the 18-th century and an excellent example of a maintained general architectural tradition. The economic base is traditionally the Atlantic foreign fishing-products from which the future is highly dubious in this time.

Old Lunenburg Municipal is an example preserved well from the 18th century the British colonial cities, in who no significant change since its foundation and which continues greatly meeting economic and social purposes in which he was conceived. Particular interest is its various and well preserved common architectural tradition, which stretches in the course of more than 250 years. It is a very good example of a metropolitan area and a culture conceived and founded on the products of fishing off Atlantic which is subjected to irreversible change evolve in a form which is still not defined absolutely.

Wider Report

Lunenburg is a city remarkably well preserved and the one who keeps the most part of the qualities of the original British model colonial regulations, by preserving his status as a community absolutely working in the modern world. Lunenburg was the narrow peninsula which was constructed in 1753 for the first time officially disposed, when the German, Swiss and French immigrants Montbéliardian came to Nova Scotia in a plan of British colonization. A plan of rigid grill went certainly on the slope of the rigid hill of the harbour. The new regulations were called as the Royal Home of Brunswick-Luneberg, which would draw the kings Hanoverian of England. The 1453 greatly eloquent Protestants German who emigrated to Lunenburg in 1752-53 represent the German regulations most North in North America in 18th century. The German customhouse and the German language survived unusually the long period in Lunenburg, because of relating isolation.

Lunenburg is the second British colonial 'model ' plan of the city, after Halifax (1749). The model is an aspect mattering from imperialist policy of the British men, the necessary functional space for the good functioning of a colony. The plan of Lunenburg (1753) included all principles of the model city: geometrically regular streets and blocks; the distribution of the public space; expenses of fortifications; and a differentiation is made between the urban and non-urban regions. Of these but fortifications survive in actual Lunenburg.

The disposition of the existent city keeps almost as a whole the model of the middle of the 18th century. Plan was made up of six divisions of eight blocks, every block is then subdivided in fourteen holidays. The founder is a city and a much bigger 'garden ' outside the borders of the city. A party of the city was not divided in lots, to act as a public earth of maneuvers. The site of the city, that in those days existent convention was made up of seven norths-south streets, 12.5 m of open sea (except for King's street, which is 24.4 m of open sea), cross sections by nine streets west - is, each 12.2 m of open sea, Create blocks which are more divided into 14 many 12.2 m in 18.3 m. The architectural supply the Old City of Lunenburg is remarkably uniform and consistent. More than 95 % of buildings are constructed of some wood, many of them with the technology of building of landscape slides lightly movable which is unaccustomed in North America.

The period of foundation in 18th century is represented by at least eight buildings to run lightly the case of landscape slides (wooden frameworks filled with the horizontal shelving). They were constructed to the one near other one and on streets, with the height augmented with the views of the harbour. The two thirds of buildings Lunenburg dating the 19th century. The previous examples are the tradition of the 18th century. The drawing of the building of houses is repeated in the commercial buildings and buildings head-on of sea where wood prevails. The same applies to churches: the oldest second Protestant church in Canada, the Anglican street church John, begun in 1754, in experts' opinion an example of ' Gothic Finish carpenter ' with more perfect sound.

With the aim of the inherent conservatism of the inhabitants of the city as regards their houses and consideration of attention am given to restore historical houses in their original state, the genuineness of top on count. The frame and the establishment of the city itself are changed at least since 1753, only defence is left. Wood remains the equipment of the most important building from a distance and traditional techniques are supported by restoration makes on the older buildings.

Historical Data

Lunenburg was the narrow peninsula which was constructed in 1753 for the first time officially disposed, when the German, Swiss and French immigrants Montbeliardian came to Nova Scotia in a plan of British colonization. A flat of rigid grill went certainly on the slope of the rigid hill of the harbour. The new regulations were called as the royal home of Lunenburg Brunswick-Lüneberg, which would draw the Rois de l' Angleterre. The 1453 greatly eloquent Protestants German who emigrated to Lunenburg in 1752-53 represent the German regulations most North in North America in 18th century. The German customhouse and the German language survived unusually the long period in Lunenburg, because of relating isolation. Lunenburg is the second British colonial 'model ' plan of the city, after Halifax (1749). The model is an aspect mattering from imperialist policy of the British men, the necessary functional space for the good functioning of a colony. The model of the new towns in colonies was taken up by the chamber of commerce of Administration and plantations. The plan of Lunenburg (1753) included all principles of the model city: geometrically regular streets and blocks; the distribution of the public space; expenses of fortifications; and a differentiation is made between the urban and non-urban regions. Of these but fortifications survive Lunenburg in the present day.

The town is at the home in the oldest uninterrupted adoration of the believers Lutherans and Presbyterians in Canada, both established in 1753. In 19th century the city developed a strong economy based in peach and shipbuilding. These areas developed in 20th century. In 1850 the first fleet sent to the Big Banks; in the 1870the revolution in industry with introduction of ' gold double ' the peach of trawl-net; in 19205 was in the first rank of the development of treatment of cool fish in Canada; and a fleet of subventions is the foundation for the biggest fish of Canada now treating trawlers of plant and. Lunenburg is and remains a center mattering for shipbuilding industry and attached industries. It is one of very few communities in North America where addresses shipbuilding traditional must always be found.
Source:whc/unesco

Saturday, 13 December 2014

L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site In Canada

a-z list of world heritage sites, pictures of natural and cultural heritage sites, world heritage photography, beautiful places to visit, tourist places and spot, tourist attractions, most popular places of the world, top tourism, free world tour on net, Outstanding Universal Values of world heritage sites,
L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site - Canada

At the end of the big northern peninsula of the island of the Newfoundland the places to stay of a Viking's settlement of the 11-th century are proofs of the first European presence in North America. The dug out one remains from wooden frame veen peat building are similar to those which are found in Scandinavian Greenland and Iceland.

Statement of Significance
This archaeological site in the tip of the big northern peninsula of the island of the Newfoundland contains the dug out one remains from a Vikings-settlement existence of the 11-th century from wooden peat-buildings (houses, workshops, etc.) which are identical with those of Scandinavian Greenland and Iceland in the same period. The position is unique proofs frühsten known European presence on the American continent. L'Anse aux meadows the first and only known side is founded by Vikings in North America and the frühsten proofs of the European settlement in the new world. As such it is a unique landmark in the history of the human wandering and discovery.

Wide Report

In the tip of the big northern peninsula of the island of the Newfoundland the places to stay of a Viking's settlement of the 11-th century are proofs of the first European presence in North America. The dug out one remains from wooden frame veen peat building are similar to those which are found in Scandinavian Greenland and Iceland. Registers in 1960, dug out from 1961 to 1968 and then from 1973 to 1976, and become through park Canada since1977, the Epaves bay protected archaeological side which is laid in the nearby Anse aux meadows on the northern tip of the Newfoundland, is in the history of the settlement Rwarica of big meaning. The frühsten signs of the human activity back about 5000 years and under the prehistoric and protohistoric the populations which has got to generate a certain branch of Eskirms (Dorset Eskimo), which have been shown to have been by chance A.D. 400-700. A temporary classification for Fischer, gets stuck the coast which is laid on the coast by peat, Appearing for about one century to have been given up. During the 9-th century these became of the archaic local population comparably with this of during the historical age, the Beothuk' Indians ' descendants restored.

Till 1500 the population remains quasi-lasting measures, many tracks found in the bay and the surroundings area. This occupation, or seasonally or lastingly, was not the only presence in the area. The unusual importance from l'Anse aux meadows originates exactly from a temporary Viking's settlement of eight houses, smiths of a smith and four workshops. The excavations gave in detail reported information about the settlement, tools and the life style of the inhabitants. The big houses (which measured most spacious ones, 24 ms and a width of 4.5 ms and 19 ms by 14 ms) are characterized by the used building technologies Which are comparable with that Norway during the same period: a structure with peat of the natural doubts (peat marsh; a kind primarily gabled roof; thick peat distributes on the grass scar-floors; decoration of the rooms, chimneys and openings. The found objects are marked with a number which is clearly within the categories of Vikings-art products like a Steinöllampe, a balance, a birch bark for a ballast stone etc.

Close to the forge, low wave kiln (partially preserved) a deposition of found snails. The 50-odd hammered iron objects (nails, rivets, buckles, etc.), In the houses and workshops were found, meet the normal typology of late Viking's settlements along the Norwegian coast. The excavation of L'Anse aux meadows took place on a vulnerable place, followed by the comprehensive lab research. This was thanks to a paläoökologischen study use-seed and pollen fossils, with a reconstruction of the long time scenery and surroundings of this human settlement possibly. In spite of the noteworthy achievements of his archaeological one remains, L'Anse aux meadows is an excellent property of the human inheritance. It is valuable and thus the far unique landmark in the history of the wandering, and the discovery of the universe: it is the oldest settlement of the European origin in America.
Source:whc/unesco